to the Celtic Harriers website


Celtic Harriers are proud to present the 57th a running of the Don Lock 8km Classic
(commonly known as a 5-miler) on 05 June 2016 


The traditional 8km Classic will once again be followed by the recently introduced and highly popular fast 15km route which is now also a WPA league race. 

Both courses will take in the classic route and the 15km will include an inner loop through the leafy streets of Rondebosch and a trip around the Rondebosch Common.

Breakfast and other refreshments will be on sale throughout registration and after the race.


Starting times: 15km: 8am

8km: 7:15am

Download the official race flyer HERE

Download the race map HERE


05 June 2016
Road Run
Western Cape, Western Province
15km, 8km 

 Brookside/Villagers Rugby Club - Imam Haron Road - Claremont 














Celtic Harriers Club – The Beginning


1906 – 1914

One evening in 1906 a group of young Irishmen met in a hall in Cape Town to discuss forming an athletic club. Captain Shawelhood was the chairman. There was considerable enthusiasm and as a result of it the Club was born. Other men who were present at the meeting were Charles Robertson, R.H. Heaney, A.D. Hamilton, Sid Panther, E.Brassell, P.V. O’Keefe, F.C. Friedmond and H.Seffe. R.H Heaney was the first captain of the club. Sid Panther was an outstanding personality. He did not win any trophies or titles during his career but he did much to foster Club spirit. In particular he organised hikes from Kloof Nek to The Glen and from Fish Hoek to Kommetjie. In 1933 he presented a trophy known as the Sid Panther Shield, to the Club to be awarded annually to the member of the Club for the most outstanding performance during the season.

As early as its second year (the 1907-8 track season) one of the Club’s members won a Western Province championship, the 4 miles (a track event). He was S.V. “Servie” Brown. In the same year he won a South African title, the 2-miles steeplechase. The next year he won the W.P. 10 mile cross-country title and the Club tied with Spartan Harriers in the 10 mile cross-country team event. As from the 1909-10 season the Club was strong on the track and cross-country. In the 5 seasons from 1909-10 to 1913-14, members of the Club won 12 W.P. track titles and 2 South African track titles as well as 2 Western Province cross-country championships. The Club also won the cross-country team event once. The members who won these titles were : P.G.Kock, H.Elsner, J.W. Herman, E.T.Kotze, George Keay and Frank Solomon.



The details of the 2015 Celtics club challenge have been finalised, and can be downloaded HERE

Interim club challenge standings have been compiled (as at 14 October 2015) and are accessible HERE